MS: My Mind-Body Connection

The house is SO quiet; I can hear the hum of emptiness. The holidays are over, and as of yesterday my husband and I are “empty nesters”… I think; does being off at college count? I’ll tell you what, it’s the first time in twenty years that we didn’t have to “close the door”. It was AWESOME!

I’ve got to take immediate action to fill the emptiness. In the three weeks that the house was filled with holiday energy and family I experienced improvement with my MS relapse that I can measure. It’s exciting and supports the Mind-Body Connection Approach to healing. As I researched this approach, I discovered that there is much more to it than I first thought.

MIND-BODY CONNECTION

(BODY)Observations at start of Holiday break: Legs extremely weak, mobility very unstable. Outside of house dependent upon cane 100%.

(MIND)Changes observed: 1st day home, daughter hugged me and told me quietly she was glad I was doing “okay”. She has clearly been worried and is now relieved. I felt an increased level of concern and compassion. Son home more and he’s very happy. He’s planning to move out, which adds to his happiness. I am going to miss him; I enjoy having his “energy” in the house. Ultimately, both children will leave.

(MS RESULTS) Symptoms observed during last week of Holiday Break: Legs still extremely weak, mobility moderately stable. I have not used my cane at all in a week. Used family members for stability (held daughters hand). Went out alone! Still have trouble with the “wobbly, drunk” walk but not enough to use my cane. Just slow down, or stop walking, recover…stabilize, and start again.

To me, this is a clear case of a “Mind-Body, Connection” and I’m excited because I have a measurable outcome. The official research is much more sophisticated, with hypnosis, guided imaginary, meditation, visualization and a few more long words. I AM a believer in many of these techniques and if they are given serious time and energy, I’m sure they can be used quite effectively in developing a mind-body approach that fits. It is NOT, I repeat…not, a one-size fits all scenario. I meditate and I just don’t think about it being a part of my M-B healing approach, but it most certainly is. Writing in my journal and on my blog are as well.

If I were my own doctor however, I would insist on more aggressive “mindful” activities. My goal is to continue the positive effects that I am seeing in my body right now. These activities are not the kind that my mind needs to “connect” with my body, for continued healing; to bring me out of this relapse! My mind needs compassionate activities that involve other people and physical touch. My mind needs lots of hugs, maybe small children; photographing a pre-school class. Teaching photography to six year-olds. An art project that I am emotionally invested in, maybe a play. See my son once a week… learn to shoot pool. It is important for me to stay as active as possible and emotionally engaged. Not at ALL one size fits all.

That’s an awful lot of work. Maybe I’ll just get a puppy. I’ve heard that they’re great for filling empty houses and…hearts.

Meet Malcolm!

Meet Malcolm!

Leave a comment; tell me what you think:
Can you put your finger on an event that might have triggered a relapse?

12 Comments

Filed under Awesome Sex, Mental Well-Being, Mind-Body Connection

12 responses to “MS: My Mind-Body Connection

  1. Jay

    Hey Sis I just wanted to tell you that I love Malcolm and you are effin awesome!

    Like

  2. Excellent writing today. Thank you so much for sharing it. I
    really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writing Jobs – Writers Wanted

    Like

  3. Carol Broughton

    If hugs help, I’ll come and hug the daylights out of you!

    Like

  4. Really a puppy? We need to take him for a photo walk! I could use a puppy model and a hug:-)

    Like

  5. Anybody…is this spam??

    Like

  6. You are a Sweetheart:) Pass my blog on to someone you think would benefit. They should tell me, You sent’en Jay:)

    Like

  7. Absolutely hugs help, but I kinda need some daylight left for later! LOL Are you doing the VM anywhere this year?

    Like

  8. Hugs I’ve got! I think I’m gonna have to do another post though about how, Malcolm, is really my sisters puppy:/

    Like

  9. Tink

    I concur! I’m thankful to have found your blog! I enjoy your writing and the laughs are good for me. My daughter has MS and I am trying to deal, find, learn, ya know, all that fun stuff. I look forward to following you. 🙂
    p.s. Malcolm is a keeper!

    Like

  10. Hi Tink, I am so glad you found me! Writing is good for me; knowing that it’s being read is even better!I do hope your daughter is doing well. Being a mom is BY FAR the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and as they get older, it seems to get harder. I’ve NEVER worried like this, and mine don’t have MS! Your daughter is very lucky to have you 🙂

    Like

  11. Tink

    Hi 🙂
    Thank you and I look forward to becoming friends! I also agree, being a mom is the hardest thing & definitely gets harder as they are older. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

