Defined by Love…not Disability

I’ve seen a blind woman, here where I live, with her young teenage daughter. This particular day, they were getting off of a public bus. The mother got off first, into a crowd of people waiting to get on. Before I saw her…I saw her red tipped walking stick. When they got off the bus, I was staring. Her daughter made immediate eye contact with me. I have never felt so shamed by a child’s “look”. I wanted to make my way over to her and explain; my stare was one of admiration! She reminded me of my own daughter, and how she helps me.

To listen to their story on NPR Storycorp, click the link below:

http://www.npr.org/2013/02/08/171382156/a-life-defined-not-by-disability-but-love

brownstory

Leave a comment

Filed under MS and Family

Leave a Reply

