Happy Father’s Day

Can you remember? Put your finger on a really stressful event that happened in your life in the year that you were diagnosed with MS? I can…my dad died.

Me and My dad, Louis H Anderson, Sr. doing homework 1973.

Me and My dad, Louis H Anderson, Sr. doing homework 1973.

 

Today is Father’s Day where I live. This got me to thinking more about my Dad, and missing him. I thought back to when he died and realized that he died in the same year that I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Let’s talk about STRESS!

This made me do a little research on “Stress and the Onset of MS”. I had heard long ago that a very stressful event, along with everything else thought needed to cause MS (maybe a virus, ethnic make-up, where you grew up- temperature, susceptible genes, gender and who knows what else) STRESS or Trauma might be responsible for getting the party started. I couldn’t find much, but I did find an article written in “The National Inst. Of Neurological Disorders and Stroke”. This fueled my interest. Most of the article by Dr. Trond Risse, professor of lifestyle epidemiology at The Univ. of Bergen in Norway, suggested that stress was proven to not be involved. Only to be contradicted in the end by a different professor, Dr. Thomas Mack, professor of preventive medicine and pathology at The Univ. of Southern, CA.

Having said all of that, I’d like to do my own research 🙂 If you have MS, can you identify a stressful event, or series of events within the 12 month period preceding your diagnosis? Please tell us about it. Have you ever considered it to be involved in the presenting of your MS?

Resource:

Reuters Health, article May, 2011 by Genevra Pittman, New York

Thoughts and Comments:

Scientific minds want to know!

 

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Diagnosing MS, MS and Family, MS and Tragedy, Stress Management

8 responses to “Happy Father’s Day

  1. First relapse: employment instability, got married.
    Second relapse: org restructure, abolition of my department, son had just survived major surgery and planning third child.
    Third relapse: impending staff cutbacks threatening employment stability. Starting studying again. Unfit, went cycling in 42 degree heat, over did it and two days later 3rd relapse started.
    Interested in hearing from others.

    Like

  2. Diagnosis- 20 yrs old, working full time and going to school. My symptoms flared up quickly with a vengence. That day I had been in class all then worked at the coffeeshop at night. I came home late to the apartment I shared with my best friend and out of the blue she told me she had decided to move to NJ and would be leaving a week later. I felt devastated and abandoned and VERY stressed about what would happen with the apartment and living arrangements. That night at midnight after crying for hours the left side of my face want numb- four days later I was in the hospital being told I have MS. I’m sure that the moment of feeling like I was loosing my best friend and being left without a place to live started the firestorm.

    Like

  3. I’m interested in hearing from others as well. Was this your first relapse: employment instability, got married, or was this when you were first diagnosed?

    Like

  4. Everything I’ve read so far, matches what you are saying. There was a hugely stressful event attached in some way to our diagnosis. I have a thought that I’m dying to share but I want to wait until I’ve got all responses. It’s nothing earth shattering (LOL)
    Have you incorporated any helpful stress management skills since your diagnosis? Are you still in school?

    Like

  5. Hi Estizer,
    I’m sorry that your dad passed away the year you were diagnosed. I had my only son, Jake, nine months before my diagnosis. They say it’s common to have an exacerbation after having a baby, but I wanted to respond to your question. Sending you blessings today!

    Like

  6. Thanks “Jakes Mom” (LOL) That’s totally what we become:) Thanks for your condolences and thanks even more for sharing. We’ve got something else in common…the pregnancy connection. I was pregnant WHEN I was diagnosed. They told me then that 50% of women have an exacerbation after giving birth. We used this knowledge to our advantage and took EXTRA precautions to make it a stress free event. I was so calm you’d have thought I was on Valium(LOL) But nope, just determined to be in the no exacerbation 50%(smile) It worked for about 3 years.How old is Jake now and how are you doing?Having kids (I have two) requires huge stress management. It might even be MORE important as they get older. You should check out my post, “Three Drunk Guys” : http://msopenmic.com/2012/12/13/part-1-ms-and-three-drunk-guys-there-are-noises-in-my-laundry-

    Like

  7. k4Skegee

    My my my Mr. Anderson topless, now you expose the goodies! i am sure many readers are saying i missed the point but you had to be there especially to experience the presence/presents (yum) of him. This photo confirmed for me that he had to look at you often and say “she is surely my daughter through and through.” So beautiful; smart; courageous; fearless; full of compassion; striving to help others make sense of the world; squinting to see many facets of life (even through the lens) living your whole life with a mic in your hands; and always trying to create a place where love and healing can reign…but in the quiet times still daddy’s baby.

    Estizer we have discussed a legacy of being strong for others. Having been connected to your continued life adventures I know that MS does not have you, you have MS. this attitude of owning life has re-committed me: i will not give precious time for a spiritual bad day, which i control, but can always allow for a moment of release. Love you Daddy’s girl… by the way tell him hello ,)

    Like

  8. I don’t care how many times I read this, and then wait, it always makes me cry. You know the tears I speak of. Thanks for being in my life…always.
    ps. topless! You ARE funny (LOL)

    Like

Leave a Reply

