“How to Meditate in a Moment”

Black-woman-meditating1

Learn to meditate in a moment with this hugely popular animated video, based on Martin Boroson‘s book, One-Moment Meditation. Reduce stress, improve focus and find peace … right now. More info and online training at http://www.onemomentmeditation.com.

I was well into my Mindfulness Meditation practice when my husband shared this video with me. Boy, how I wish I had had it in the beginning! I was introduced to Mindfulness Meditation by my psychologist at the peek of an exacerbation. That was 15 years ago and I have practiced it every since. Sometimes more committed than others but always feeling it’s benefit. I began with the book “Full Catastrophe Living” by Jon Kabit-Zinn, and have since recommended it many times. During an extremely  stressful time in my husband’s career I was even able to convince him to take a weekly meditation class with me. After that experience, he recommended it as well. It is safe to say that it has a positive effect on our lives.

Thoughts and Comments:

What has your experience with Mindfulness Meditation been? Do you have suggestions for how you are successful…or thoughts on why you think you are NOT? If you meditate, when and how did you know it was working? How long did you take to feel results?

5 Comments

Filed under Mental Well-Being, Stress Management

5 responses to ““How to Meditate in a Moment”

  1. never thought of meditating but will now

    Like

  2. Hi Kim, I’m so glad you’re gonna try it 🙂 Start small and don’t give up. This is the one stress management tool that I can recommend 100%. Good Luck 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: MS, this is NOT a good time! | ms-openmic

  4. Glad I can read this now, and I’ll take a look at the video! I’ll also be reading a lot of your past material when I can… as a fellow A/P teacher 🙂
    One direct benefit I’ve received from meditation–toward the end of the last academic year, I was feeling really scattered. Much as I was trying to control the clutter in my life on a physical level, my brain was still all over the place (and my lecturing and conversations were moving that direction, too). Even after a few weeks of not getting up at 5am… still the same effect.
    Until I’d been meditating daily for a while. Suddenly, I could express myself more easily. I could focus on others better in conversation. Now, I don’t know if that has to do with “reduced stress” per se, but it’s definitely smoothed out some of the background chatter in my head.
    I am in my sixth week of meditating every day. Going to keep on going until at least the beginning of the next quarter (23 Sept) and hope to keep on after that!

    Like

  5. This is wonderful news!I can’t say enough about the effect meditation has had on my life. During my last year or so teaching , my MS took off. I would even go in between classes when I needed to(or during my Prep)for a quickie(hahaha)! While it was happening I didn’t put my finger on the cognitive issues, I just felt like I was drowning, but in hindsight, they were clearly there. The class right after lunch would be so hyped up, I’d have them meditate with me for 5 minutes before I started the lesson!I DO miss the classroom though:)
    I wish you the BEST quarter ever. Do you guys dissect? If so…what?

    Like

Leave a Reply

