Cure for the big “C”! That would be constipation Dear!

This is not my sexiest post, but it may be one of the most important. I have found the cure for the big “C”! That would be constipation!

OatBranc11271_51F6ZKEE8EL

Let me just get to the point. Honestly, I got this from my Uro-gynocologist, but since I’m posting it, I feel like I can take ALL of the credit. So what if she’s a doctor, if she wants to make a REAL difference…she should be a blogger.

In case you didn’t know: Infrequent passage of hard stool or no bowel movement for more than 1 day past your normal movement pattern may mean you are constipation.

Possible Causes:

  1. Lack of or too little exercise throughout the day. (I finally joined the gym again. Rode the stationary bike this morning for 40 minutes. SUCCESS! There’s even a really cool exercise bike that will move your legs, even if you can’t)
  2. Lack of or too little fluid intake. (Ugh! Going to get a glass of water now. This is easier said than done if you are also monitoring your bladder…gotta do it anyway)
  3. Not enough leafy greens, whole grains or fiber in your diet. (I’m a Vegan for goodness sake. If I eat any more grass I’ll be a cow)
  4. A side effect of pelvic muscle or pelvic floor problems in women. (Hubby thinks this means more sex :/ Silly man)
  5. And last but not least, MS can cause constipation for another whole set of neurological reasons. Check out my post from August 1013 AFTER you finish this one.

How do I prevent Constipation?

1. Increase your activity. Now THIS means more sex. (Gym 5 days out of 7)

2. Drink at least 8 glasses of non-caffeine drinks every day. (Ditching the caffeine REALLY helps with insomnia too. I thought a little bit wouldn’t hurt. Think again. Helps with menopausal night sweats as well. Night sweats…not sexy)

3. Increase fiber, fruits, and veggies. Unless you have a condition where you have been told not to eat this type of food.  (That condition must only exist on Mars)

4. Ask your doctor about taking a stool softener or laxative if you have not had a normal bowel movement for more than 1 day past your normal pattern. (Hmmmm, natural is always better for me. EVERY medicine has a side effect. I want my body to retain as much natural balance as possible.)

5. Tell your doctor or health care team if you are having problems with constipation. (Or read my blog for the following AWESOME recipe! You may even decide to share it with your Doc.)

FIBER CUBES Mix together the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup of applesauce
  • 1 cup of oat bran or unprocessed wheat bran (Gluten Free)
  • ¾ cup of prune juice

Begin with 1 to 2 tablespoons each evening mixed with 6 to 8 ounces of water or juice. This should help to soften and regulate your bowel movements within 2 weeks. If there is no change, slowly increase serving to 3 to 4 tablespoons.

You should plan on making this part of your daily routine for the rest of your life.

Store in refrigerator or your freezer. One to two tablespoons may be placed in a sectional ice cube tray and thawed as needed.

HAPPY TRAILS

Comments: Try it for 2 weeks and tell me how it works? What remedies have you found to help?

Leave a comment

Filed under MS and Nutrition, MS Symptoms, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

