nutrition and ms… again

I re-blogged this article from the blog of a friend. I hope I did it right. Check her blog out, it’s great.

Below is the comment I left on her page. It was after writing my comment that I realized, these were my feeling on MS and Nutrition.

Hmmmm, I’ve been a Vegan for so long I really can’t say WHAT the benefits have been. Weight management has never been a problem, and I think everything is more difficult when we carry extra weight. Well, and I’ve had MS for 20 years and it’s safe to say that its progression has been very slow. But now , do I attribute that to my diet, or the DMD’s I’ve been taking for some 20 years? Or, maybe the fact that I left my career 11 years ago (stress reduction). Or, is the meditation and exercise that I’ve thrown in, off and on over the years? OR is it just the way the disease was gonna play out in my body, no matter what?

In Search of My New Normal

So, here’s an article I recently came across:

Treating MS With Diet: Fact or Fraud?

It discusses the results of the infamous Dr. Swank diet. (If you’re unfamiliar with it, he found that a low-fat, vegetarian diet reduced the progression of MS in a group of his patients.) I’ve read about this again and again since my diagnosis, and given my background, I’ve never been on-board with too extreme a reduction in fat… because when we drop too much fat, most of us lose control and trade in those calories for too many processed carbs. (That was the big problem during the “fat free” craze of the early ’90’s.)

He does mention something in the article about seeing results in those who eat 20 grams of saturated fat (or less) per day… Now, I’m thinking that’s more doable, maybe?

Maybe?

The list says that 1 ounce of cheese contains (on…

View original post 31 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under MS and Nutrition, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

